

SSSA Diversity Trailblazers Receive SSSA Presidential Award

Carrie Laboski, Past President of SSSA

January 17, 2024



Each year, the SSSA Presidential Award is given to an individual or group of individuals who have influenced soil science or the practice of soil science so greatly that the impact of their efforts will be enduring on the future of our science and/or profession. Their work may have influenced any aspect of soil science in the agricultural, environmental, or social science fields as a researcher, educator, or practitioner; but the fundamental criterion is that their influence be such an important one that their impact will be long lasting.

At the Annual Meeting last fall, I bestowed the 2023 SSSA Presidential Award on the SSSA Diversity Trailblazers, those members who were the first or among the first women, people of color, indigenous, and LGBTQ+ scientists to take on leadership roles in our Society.

During the presentation of the award, I asked all of the Trailblazers in attendance to stand. It was awesome to see so many faces beaming back at me. Through heartfelt conversations and emails, I learned how meaningful this award was to the recipients and to the broader membership.

Many have asked to see a list of names (see box) of all of the Trailblazers and asked how they were identified. I used our membership database, which dates back to 1980 and has demographics information such as gender (male and female) and race (American Indian/Alaskan Native, Asian, Black/African American, Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander, Other, White, or no response). I looked for the first three women, people of color, and indigenous scientists who were president, a member of the Board of Directors and which division/group they represented, a division chair, and editorial board member of the *Soil Science Society of America Journal* and *Vadose Zone Journal*, and SSSA Fellow. I also identified leaders in our LGBTQ+ community. There are limitations to our database, and I may not have identified all of our Trailblazers. Some of the limitations were that demographic records were not kept prior to 1980, and race/ethnicity data does not adequately describe the true diversity of our members. I apologize if I have failed to identify any Diversity Trailblazers. If so, please forgive me. But also please contact both me (carrie.laboski@usda.gov) and Sara Uttech (suttech@sciencesocieties.org), so we can make additions to the list of award recipients.

Our Diversity Trailblazers

Here is a list of our Diversity Trailblazers:

Veronica Acosta-Martinez

Mary Beth Adams

Domy Adriano

Lajpat Ahuja

Deborah Allan

Ashok Alva

Minoru Amemiya

Sharon Anderson

Cam Anderson

Muhammad Arshad

Janis Boettinger

Karen Brady

Sally Brown

Constantine Campbell

Kenneth Cassman

Scott Chang

Hwei-Hsien Cheng

Emily Clark

Tommy Coleman

Mary Collins

Samira Daroub

Jessica Davis

Susan Day

Surajit De Datta

Jorge Delgado

Elizabeth Klepper

Hideomi Kodama

Sridhar Komarneni

Joe Kubota

King-Jau Kung

Carrie Laboski

Jagdish Ladha

Rattan Lal

Linda Lee

Maxine Levin

Sally Logsdon

Birl Lowery

Rebecca Lybrand

Lena Ma

Liwang Ma

Monday Mbila

Maysoon Mikha

Cristine Morgan

Robert Mullen

Ramachandran Nair

Vimala Nair

Manjula Nathan

Carolyn Olson

Phillip Owens

William Pan

Hariharan Eswaran

Christine Evans

Fabian Fernandez

Mary Firestone

Lorraine Flint

Roger Fujii

Paula Gale

Jay (Jianying) Gan

Teamrat Ghezzehei

Elizabeth Gillispie

Sabine Goldberg

Hero Gollany

Wendy Greenberg

Elizabeth Guertal

Sharon Haines

Pa Hsu

Pan Ming Huang

Yan Jin

Jane Johnson

Carol Johnston

Anthony S. R. Juo

Edward Kanemasu

Pamm Kasper

Frances Katz

Ann Kennedy

Darlene Zabowski

Hailin Zhang

Xia Zhu-Barker

Mary Beth Kirkham

Eileen Kladivko

Ann Wolf

Anderson Ward

Dong Wang

Helga Van Miegroet

April Ulery

Goro Uehara

Teferi Tsegaye

Nobuo Toride

Gurpal Toor

Mary Tiedeman

Robert Taylor

Kenneth Tanji

Tsuneo Tamura

Mary Stromberger

Diane Stott

Jean Steiner

Bal Singh

Kate Scow

Bridget Scanlon

Christopher Ryan

Text © . The authors. CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. Except where otherwise noted, images are subject to copyright. Any reuse without express permission from the copyright owner is prohibited.